United Kingdom

Regions

England
N Ireland
Scotland
Wales

Country information

Country: United Kingdom
Population: 62,348,447 inhabitants  (Last modified: 25/11/2011 )
Area 244,820 km²
Capital: London
Currency: Pound (GBP)
Phone code: +44
Languages: en-GB,cy-GB,gd
Domain name: .uk
Postcode form: @# #@@|@## #@@|@@# #@@|@@## #@@|@#@ #@@|@@#@ #@@|GIR0AA
Postcode regex: ^(([A-Z]\d{2}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]\d{3}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d{2}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d{3}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]\d[A-Z]\d[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d[A-Z]\d[A-Z]{2})|(GIR0AA))$
ISO3: GBR
Neighbors: Ireland
Fips: UK

Current local time in United Kingdom

Current Date:
Wednesday 20 September 2017
Current Time:
  • 04
  • :
  • 56
  • :
  • 52
Time Zone: Europe/London
GMT/UTC: 0  hours
DST started: Sunday, 26 March 2017, 01:00
DST will end: Sunday, 29 October 2017, 01:00


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
September 21 Thursday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
September 22 Friday September equinox Season
September 22 Friday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim holiday
September 30 Saturday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
October 4 Wednesday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian holiday
October 5 Thursday First day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 11 Wednesday Last day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 12 Thursday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
October 13 Friday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
October 19 Thursday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
Show full list of public holidays

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 54.75844
Longitude in decimal degrees: -2.69531
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 54° 46' 30" North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 2° 42' 43" West
Height above sea level: 71 m,   232.94 ft,   2795.28 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)