Egypt

Regions

Ad Daqahlīyah
Al Baḩr al Aḩmar
Al Buḩayrah
Al Fayyūm
Al Gharbīyah
Al Ismā‘īlīyah
Al Jīzah
Al Minyā
Al Minūfīyah
Al Qalyūbīyah
Al Qāhirah
Al Wādī al Jadīd
Alexandria
As Suways
Aswān
Asyūţ
Banī Suwayf
Būr Sa‘īd
Dumyāţ
Eastern Province
Janūb Sīnāʼ
Kafr ash Shaykh
Maţrūḩ
Muḩāfaz̧at al Uqşur
Qinā
Shamāl Sīnāʼ
Sūhāj

Country information

Country: Egypt
Population: 80,471,869 inhabitants  (Last modified: 21/03/2013 )
Area 1,001,450 km²
Capital: Cairo
Currency: Pound (EGP)
Phone code: +20
Languages: ar-EG,en,fr
Domain name: .eg
Postcode form: #####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{5})$
ISO3: EGY
Neighbors: Israel, Libya, Sudan
Fips: EG

Current local time in Egypt

Current Date:
Sunday 21 April 2019
Current Time:
  • 22
  • :
  • 52
  • :
  • 07
Time Zone: Africa/Cairo
GMT/UTC: + 2  hours
DST: No time changes this year!


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
April 25 Thursday Sinai Liberation Day National holiday
April 26 Friday Coptic Good Friday Observance
April 27 Saturday Coptic Holy Saturday Observance
April 28 Sunday Coptic Easter Sunday National holiday
April 29 Monday Spring Festival National holiday
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day Public Holiday
June 5 Wednesday End of Ramadan Muslim holiday
June 6 Thursday End of Ramadan Day 2 National holiday
June 7 Friday End of Ramadan Day 3 National holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 27
Longitude in decimal degrees: 30
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 27° North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 30° East
Height above sea level: 199 m,   652.89 ft,   7834.65 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)