Greece

Regions

Attica
Central Greece
Central Macedonia
Crete
East Macedonia and Thrace
Epirus
Ionian Islands
Mount Athos
North Aegean
Peloponnese
South Aegean
Thessaly
West Greece
West Macedonia

Country information

Country: Greece
Population: 11,000,000 inhabitants  (Last modified: 27/11/2012 )
Area 131,940 km²
Capital: Athens
Currency: Euro (EUR)
Phone code: +30
Languages: el-GR,en,fr
Domain name: .gr
Postcode form: ### ##
Postcode regex: ^(\d{5})$
ISO3: GRC
Neighbors: Albania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Turkey
Fips: GR

Current local time in Greece

Current Date:
Wednesday 16 October 2019
Current Time:
  • 12
  • :
  • 51
  • :
  • 32
Time Zone: Europe/Athens
GMT/UTC: + 2  hours
DST started: Sunday, 31 March 2019, 01:00
DST will end: Sunday, 27 October 2019, 01:00


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
October 28 Monday The Ochi day Public Holiday
November 17 Sunday Polytechneio Observance
November 21 Thursday Armed Forces Day Observance
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Thursday Synaxis of the Mother of God Public Holiday
Show full list of public holidays
Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Monday Epiphany Common Local holiday
Show full list of public holidays

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 39
Longitude in decimal degrees: 22
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 39° North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 22° East
Height above sea level: 644 m,   2112.86 ft,   25354.34 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)