Israel

Regions

Central District
Haifa District
Jerusalem District
Northern District
Southern District
Tel Aviv

Country information

Country: Israel
Population: 7,353,985 inhabitants  (Last modified: 5/03/2013 )
Area 20,770 km²
Capital: Jerusalem
Currency: Shekel (ILS)
Phone code: +972
Languages: he,ar-IL,en-IL,
Domain name: .il
Postcode form: #####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{5})$
ISO3: ISR
Neighbors: Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestinian Territory, Syria
Fips: IS

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
March 21 Thursday Ta'anit Esther (Fast of Esther) Observance and Hebrew holiday
March 23 Saturday Erev Purim Observance, Hebrew
March 24 Sunday Purim (Tel Aviv) National and Hebrew holiday
March 25 Monday Shushan Purim (Jerusalem) National and Hebrew holiday
April 18 Thursday Yom HaAliyah Official Holiday, Business as usual
April 22 Monday Erev Pesach Observance, Hebrew
April 23 Tuesday Pesach I (First day of Passover) National and Hebrew holiday
April 24 Wednesday Pesach II (Passover) Observance and Hebrew holiday
April 25 Thursday Pesach III (Passover) Observance and Hebrew holiday
Show full list of public holidays

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 31.5
Longitude in decimal degrees: 34.75
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 31° 30' North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 34° 45' East
Height above sea level: 168 m,   551.18 ft,   6614.18 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)