Israel

Regions

Central District
Haifa District
Jerusalem District
Northern District
Southern District
Tel Aviv

Country information

Country: Israel
Population: 7,353,985 inhabitants  (Last modified: 5/03/2013 )
Area 20,770 km²
Capital: Jerusalem
Currency: Shekel (ILS)
Phone code: +972
Languages: he,ar-IL,en-IL,
Domain name: .il
Postcode form: #####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{5})$
ISO3: ISR
Neighbors: Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestinian Territory, Syria
Fips: IS

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 30 Monday Rosh Hashana (New Year) National and Hebrew holiday
October 1 Tuesday Rosh Hashana II (New Year day 2) National and Hebrew holiday
October 2 Wednesday Tzom Gedaliah Observance and Hebrew holiday
October 9 Wednesday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
October 14 Monday Sukkot I National and Hebrew holiday
October 15 Tuesday Sukkot II Observance and Hebrew holiday
October 16 Wednesday Sukkot III Observance and Hebrew holiday
October 17 Thursday Sukkot IV Observance and Hebrew holiday
October 18 Friday Sukkot V Observance and Hebrew holiday
Show full list of public holidays

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 31.5
Longitude in decimal degrees: 34.75
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 31° 30' North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 34° 45' East
Height above sea level: 168 m,   551.18 ft,   6614.18 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)