South Africa

Regions

Eastern Cape
Free State
Gauteng
KwaZulu-Natal
Limpopo
Mpumalanga
North-West
Northern Cape
Western Cape

Country information

Country: South Africa
Population: 49,000,000 inhabitants  (Last modified: 11/05/2012 )
Area 1,219,912 km²
Capital: Pretoria
Currency: Rand (ZAR)
Phone code: +27
Languages: zu,xh,af,nso,en-ZA,tn,st,ts,ss,ve,nr
Domain name: .za
Postcode form: ####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{4})$
ISO3: ZAF
Neighbors: Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Zimbabwe
Fips: SF

Current local time in South Africa

Current Date:
Thursday 25 February 2021
Current Time:
  • 09
  • :
  • 57
  • :
  • 56
Time Zone: Africa/Johannesburg
GMT/UTC: + 2  hours
DST: No time changes this year!


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
March 11 Thursday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
March 20 Saturday March equinox Season
March 21 Sunday Human Rights Day Observance
March 22 Monday Human Rights Day observed Public Holiday
April 2 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 3 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 4 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 5 Monday Family Day Common Local holiday
April 27 Tuesday Freedom Day National holiday
May 1 Saturday Workers' Day Public Holiday
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: -29
Longitude in decimal degrees: 24
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 29° South
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 24° East
Height above sea level: 1026 m,   3366.14 ft,   40393.72 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)