South Africa

Regions

Eastern Cape
Free State
Gauteng
KwaZulu-Natal
Limpopo
Mpumalanga
North-West
Northern Cape
Western Cape

Country information

Country: South Africa
Population: 49,000,000 inhabitants  (Last modified: 11/05/2012 )
Area 1,219,912 km²
Capital: Pretoria
Currency: Rand (ZAR)
Phone code: +27
Languages: zu,xh,af,nso,en-ZA,tn,st,ts,ss,ve,nr
Domain name: .za
Postcode form: ####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{4})$
ISO3: ZAF
Neighbors: Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Zimbabwe
Fips: SF

Current local time in South Africa

Current Date:
Sunday 21 April 2019
Current Time:
  • 10
  • :
  • 54
  • :
  • 29
Time Zone: Africa/Johannesburg
GMT/UTC: + 2  hours
DST: No time changes this year!


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
April 21 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 22 Monday Family Day Common Local holiday
April 27 Saturday Freedom Day National holiday
May 1 Wednesday Workers' Day Public Holiday
May 12 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
June 16 Sunday Father's Day Observance
June 16 Sunday Youth Day Observance
June 17 Monday Youth Day observed Public Holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 18 Thursday Nelson Mandela Day Observance
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: -29
Longitude in decimal degrees: 24
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 29° South
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 24° East
Height above sea level: 1026 m,   3366.14 ft,   40393.72 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)