Sri Lanka

Regions

Central
Eastern Province
North Central
North Western
Northern Province
Sabaragamuwa
Southern
Uva
Western

Country information

Country: Sri Lanka
Population: 21,513,990 inhabitants  (Last modified: 5/03/2013 )
Area 65,610 km²
Capital: Colombo
Currency: Rupee (LKR)
Phone code: +94
Languages: si,ta,en
Domain name: .lk
Postcode form: #####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{5})$
ISO3: LKA
Neighbors:
Fips: CE

Current local time in Sri Lanka

Current Date:
Sunday 29 March 2020
Current Time:
  • 20
  • :
  • 26
  • :
  • 55
Time Zone: Asia/Colombo
GMT/UTC: + 5.5  hours
DST: No time changes this year!


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
April 8 Wednesday Bak Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 12 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 13 Monday Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Eve Public Holiday
April 14 Tuesday Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Day Public Holiday
May 1 Friday May Day National holiday
May 7 Thursday Vesak Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
May 8 Friday Day after Vesak Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
May 10 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 24 Sunday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 7
Longitude in decimal degrees: 81
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 7° North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 81° East
Height above sea level: 818 m,   2683.73 ft,   32204.74 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)