Sri Lanka

Regions

Central
Eastern Province
North Central
North Western
Northern Province
Sabaragamuwa
Southern
Uva
Western

Country information

Country: Sri Lanka
Population: 21,513,990 inhabitants  (Last modified: 5/03/2013 )
Area 65,610 km²
Capital: Colombo
Currency: Rupee (LKR)
Phone code: +94
Languages: si,ta,en
Domain name: .lk
Postcode form: #####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{5})$
ISO3: LKA
Neighbors:
Fips: CE

Current local time in Sri Lanka

Current Date:
Monday 28 September 2020
Current Time:
  • 07
  • :
  • 37
  • :
  • 48
Time Zone: Asia/Colombo
GMT/UTC: + 5.5  hours
DST: No time changes this year!


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
October 2 Friday Vap Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
October 17 Saturday Navaratri Hindu Holiday
October 25 Sunday Dussehra Gazetted Holiday
October 29 Thursday Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet's Birthday) Public Holiday
October 31 Saturday Adhi Vap Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
November 14 Saturday Deepavali Public Holiday
November 30 Monday Il Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 7
Longitude in decimal degrees: 81
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 7° North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 81° East
Height above sea level: 818 m,   2683.73 ft,   32204.74 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)