Sri Lanka

Regions

Central
Eastern Province
North Central
North Western
Northern Province
Sabaragamuwa
Southern
Uva
Western

Country information

Country: Sri Lanka
Population: 21,513,990 inhabitants  (Last modified: 5/03/2013 )
Area 65,610 km²
Capital: Colombo
Currency: Rupee (LKR)
Phone code: +94
Languages: si,ta,en
Domain name: .lk
Postcode form: #####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{5})$
ISO3: LKA
Neighbors:
Fips: CE

Current local time in Sri Lanka

Current Date:
Friday 23 August 2019
Current Time:
  • 02
  • :
  • 11
  • :
  • 34
Time Zone: Asia/Colombo
GMT/UTC: + 5.5  hours
DST: No time changes this year!


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
August 24 Saturday Janmashtami Public Holiday
September 2 Monday Ganesh Chaturthi Public Holiday
September 13 Friday Binara Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 29 Sunday Navaratri Hindu Holiday
October 8 Tuesday Dussehra Gazetted Holiday
October 13 Sunday Vap Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
October 27 Sunday Deepavali Public Holiday
November 10 Sunday Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet's Birthday) Public Holiday
November 12 Tuesday Il Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 7
Longitude in decimal degrees: 81
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 7° North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 81° East
Height above sea level: 818 m,   2683.73 ft,   32204.74 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)