Sri Lanka

Regions

Central
Eastern Province
North Central
North Western
Northern Province
Sabaragamuwa
Southern
Uva
Western

Country information

Country: Sri Lanka
Population: 21,513,990 inhabitants  (Last modified: 5/03/2013 )
Area 65,610 km²
Capital: Colombo
Currency: Rupee (LKR)
Phone code: +94
Languages: si,ta,en
Domain name: .lk
Postcode form: #####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{5})$
ISO3: LKA
Neighbors:
Fips: CE

Current local time in Sri Lanka

Current Date:
Thursday 24 October 2019
Current Time:
  • 00
  • :
  • 04
  • :
  • 02
Time Zone: Asia/Colombo
GMT/UTC: + 5.5  hours
DST: No time changes this year!


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
October 27 Sunday Deepavali Public Holiday
November 10 Sunday Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet's Birthday) Public Holiday
November 12 Tuesday Il Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
December 11 Wednesday Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
Show full list of public holidays
Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 11 Saturday Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
January 15 Wednesday Tamil Thai Pongal Day Public Holiday
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 7
Longitude in decimal degrees: 81
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 7° North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 81° East
Height above sea level: 818 m,   2683.73 ft,   32204.74 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)