Tanzania

Regions

Arusha
Dar es Salaam
Dodoma
Geita Region
Iringa
Kagera
Katavi Region
Kigoma
Kilimanjaro
Lindi
Manyara
Mara
Mbeya
Morogoro Region
Mtwara
Mwanza
Njombe Region
Pemba North
Pemba South
Pwani
Rukwa Region
Ruvuma
Shinyanga
Simiyu Region
Singida
Tabora
Tanga
Zanzibar Central/South
Zanzibar North
Zanzibar Urban/West

Country information

Country: Tanzania
Population: 41,892,895 inhabitants  (Last modified: 5/03/2013 )
Area 945,087 km²
Capital: Dodoma
Currency: Shilling (TZS)
Phone code: +255
Languages: sw-TZ,en,ar
Domain name: .tz
Postcode form:
Postcode regex:
ISO3: TZA
Neighbors: Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Uganda, Zambia
Fips: TZ

Current local time in Tanzania

Current Date:
Friday 26 February 2021
Current Time:
  • 21
  • :
  • 29
  • :
  • 09
Time Zone: Africa/Dar_es_Salaam
GMT/UTC: + 3  hours
DST: No time changes this year!


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
March 20 Saturday March equinox Season
April 2 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 4 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 5 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 7 Wednesday Karume Day Public Holiday
April 26 Monday Union Day Public Holiday
May 1 Saturday Worker's Day Public Holiday
May 9 Sunday Mothers' Day Observance
May 13 Thursday Eid el Fitri Public Holiday
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: -6
Longitude in decimal degrees: 35
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 6° South
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 35° East
Height above sea level: 829 m,   2719.82 ft,   32637.81 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)