Public holidays and observances in Afghanistan

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
April 28 Saturday Afghan Victory Day Public Holiday
May 16 Wednesday Ramadan starts Public Holiday
June 15 Friday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
August 19 Sunday Independence Day (National Day) Public Holiday
August 22 Wednesday Eid al-Qurban Public Holiday
September 21 Friday Ashura Public Holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
November 21 Wednesday The Prophet's Birthday Public Holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 28 Sunday Afghan Victory Day Public Holiday
May 6 Monday Ramadan starts Public Holiday
June 5 Wednesday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
August 12 Monday Eid al-Qurban Public Holiday
August 19 Monday Independence Day (National Day) Public Holiday
September 10 Tuesday Ashura Public Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
November 10 Sunday The Prophet's Birthday Public Holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 24 Friday Ramadan starts Public Holiday
April 28 Tuesday Afghan Victory Day Public Holiday
May 24 Sunday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 31 Friday Eid al-Qurban Public Holiday
August 19 Wednesday Independence Day (National Day) Public Holiday
August 29 Saturday Ashura Public Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 29 Thursday The Prophet's Birthday Public Holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season