Public holidays and observances in Azerbaijan

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Thursday New Year's Day (Day 2) National holiday
January 20 Monday Martyrs’ Day Public Holiday
March 8 Sunday Women's Day Observance
March 9 Monday Women's Day observed Public Holiday
March 20 Friday Nowruz Observance
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 21 Saturday Nowruz/Spring Holiday Public Holiday
March 22 Sunday Nowruz/Spring Holiday Public Holiday
March 23 Monday Nowruz/Spring Holiday Public Holiday
March 24 Tuesday Nowruz/Spring Holiday Public Holiday
March 25 Wednesday Nowruz/Spring Holiday Public Holiday
March 26 Thursday Nowruz/Spring Holiday Public Holiday
May 9 Saturday Victory Day over Fascism Public Holiday
May 11 Monday Victory Day over Fascism observed Public Holiday
May 24 Sunday Ramadan holiday Public Holiday
May 25 Monday Ramadan holiday Public Holiday
May 26 Tuesday Ramadan holiday Public Holiday
May 28 Thursday Republic Day Public Holiday
June 15 Monday Day of National Salvation of the Azerbaijani People Public Holiday
June 21 Sunday June Solstice Season
June 26 Friday Azerbaijan Armed Forces Day Public Holiday
July 31 Friday Feast of the Sacrifice Public Holiday
August 1 Saturday Feast of the Sacrifice (day 2) Public Holiday
August 3 Monday Feast of the Sacrifice (day 3) Public Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 18 Sunday National Independence Day Public Holiday
November 9 Monday State Flag Day of Azerbaijan Public Holiday
November 12 Thursday Constitution Day Public Holiday
November 17 Tuesday National Revival Day Public Holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 31 Thursday World Azerbaijanis Solidarity Day Public Holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance