Public holidays and observances in Bangladesh

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 10 Thursday Bangabandhu Homecoming Day Observance
February 10 Sunday Saraswati Puja Optional Holiday
February 14 Thursday Valentine's Day Observance
February 19 Tuesday Maghi Purnima Optional Holiday
February 21 Thursday Language Martyrs' Day Public Holiday
March 2 Saturday National Flag Day Observance
March 4 Monday Maha Shivaratri Optional Holiday
March 6 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian holiday
March 17 Sunday Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s birthday Public Holiday
March 21 Thursday Holi National and Hinduism holiday
March 21 Thursday Doljatra Optional Holiday
March 21 Thursday March equinox Season
March 26 Tuesday Independence Day Public Holiday
April 3 Wednesday Shab-e-Meraj Optional Holiday
April 13 Saturday Chaitra Sankranti Optional Holiday
April 14 Sunday Bengali New Year Public Holiday
April 18 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 20 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 21 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 21 Sunday Shab e-Barat Public Holiday
April 22 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Wednesday May Day National holiday
May 12 Sunday Mothers' Day Observance
May 18 Saturday Buddha Purnima/Vesak National holiday
May 31 Friday Jumatul Bidah Public Holiday
June 2 Sunday Shab-e-qadr Public Holiday
June 4 Tuesday Eid ul-Fitr Holiday Public Holiday
June 5 Wednesday Eid ul-Fitr Public Holiday
June 6 Thursday Eid ul-Fitr Holiday Public Holiday
June 7 Friday Eid ul-Fitr Holiday Public Holiday
June 16 Sunday Fathers' Day Observance
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 1 Monday July 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
July 16 Tuesday Ashari Purnima Optional Holiday
August 12 Monday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
August 13 Tuesday Eid al-Adha Day 2 Public Holiday
August 14 Wednesday Eid al-Adha Day 3 Public Holiday
August 15 Thursday Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday
August 15 Thursday Eid al-Adha Day 4 Optional Holiday
August 15 Thursday National Mourning Day Public Holiday
August 23 Friday Janmashtami Public Holiday
September 2 Monday Ganesh Chaturthi Public Holiday
September 10 Tuesday Ashura Public Holiday
September 13 Friday Madhu Purnima Optional Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 28 Saturday Mahalaya Optional Holiday
September 29 Sunday First Day of Navaratri Hindu Holiday
October 8 Tuesday Durga Puja Public Holiday
October 13 Sunday Lakshmi Puja Optional Holiday
October 13 Sunday Prabarana Purnima Optional Holiday
October 23 Wednesday Akhari Chahar Somba Optional Holiday
October 27 Sunday Sri Shayama Puja Optional Holiday
October 31 Thursday Halloween Observance
November 10 Sunday Eid e-Milad-un Nabi Public Holiday
December 9 Monday Fateha-i-Yajdaham Optional Holiday
December 16 Monday Victory Day Public Holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Thursday Boxing Day National holiday
December 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 10 Friday Bangabandhu Homecoming Day Observance
January 29 Wednesday Saraswati Puja Optional Holiday
February 9 Sunday Maghi Purnima Optional Holiday
February 14 Friday Valentine's Day Observance
February 21 Friday Maha Shivaratri Optional Holiday
February 21 Friday Language Martyrs' Day Public Holiday
February 26 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian holiday
March 2 Monday National Flag Day Observance
March 9 Monday Doljatra Optional Holiday
March 10 Tuesday Holi National and Hinduism holiday
March 17 Tuesday Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s birthday Public Holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 22 Sunday Shab-e-Meraj Optional Holiday
March 26 Thursday Independence Day Public Holiday
April 8 Wednesday Shab e-Barat Public Holiday
April 9 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 11 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 12 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 13 Monday Chaitra Sankranti Optional Holiday
April 14 Tuesday Bengali New Year Public Holiday
May 1 Friday May Day National holiday
May 7 Thursday Buddha Purnima/Vesak National holiday
May 10 Sunday Mothers' Day Observance
May 19 Tuesday Shab-e-qadr Public Holiday
May 22 Friday Jumatul Bidah Public Holiday
May 25 Monday Eid ul-Fitr Public Holiday
May 26 Tuesday Eid ul-Fitr Holiday Public Holiday
May 27 Wednesday Eid ul-Fitr Holiday Public Holiday
May 28 Thursday Eid ul-Fitr Holiday Public Holiday
June 21 Sunday June Solstice Season
June 21 Sunday Fathers' Day Observance
July 1 Wednesday July 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
July 5 Sunday Ashari Purnima Optional Holiday
July 31 Friday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
August 1 Saturday Eid al-Adha Day 2 Public Holiday
August 2 Sunday Eid al-Adha Day 3 Public Holiday
August 3 Monday Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday
August 3 Monday Eid al-Adha Day 4 Optional Holiday
August 12 Wednesday Janmashtami Public Holiday
August 15 Saturday National Mourning Day Public Holiday
August 22 Saturday Ganesh Chaturthi Public Holiday
August 29 Saturday Ashura Public Holiday
September 2 Wednesday Madhu Purnima Optional Holiday
September 17 Thursday Mahalaya Optional Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 13 Tuesday Akhari Chahar Somba Optional Holiday
October 17 Saturday First Day of Navaratri Hindu Holiday
October 25 Sunday Durga Puja Public Holiday
October 31 Saturday Halloween Observance
October 31 Saturday Prabarana Purnima Optional Holiday
November 14 Saturday Lakshmi Puja Optional Holiday
November 14 Saturday Sri Shayama Puja Optional Holiday
November 27 Friday Fateha-i-Yajdaham Optional Holiday
December 16 Wednesday Victory Day Public Holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday Boxing Day National holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance