Public holidays and observances in Egypt

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday January 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 7 Sunday Coptic Christmas Day National holiday
January 25 Thursday Revolution Day January 25 National holiday
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
April 6 Friday Coptic Good Friday Observance
April 7 Saturday Coptic Holy Saturday Observance
April 8 Sunday Coptic Easter Sunday National holiday
April 9 Monday Spring Festival National holiday
April 25 Wednesday Sinai Liberation Day National holiday
May 1 Tuesday Labor Day Public Holiday
June 15 Friday End of Ramadan Muslim holiday
June 16 Saturday End of Ramadan Day 2 National holiday
June 17 Sunday End of Ramadan Day 3 National holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
June 30 Saturday June 30 Uprising National holiday
July 1 Sunday July 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
July 23 Monday Revolution Day July 23 National holiday
August 15 Wednesday Flooding of the Nile Observance
August 22 Wednesday Feast of the Sacrifice Public Holiday
August 23 Thursday Feast of the Sacrifice Day 2 National holiday
August 24 Friday Feast of the Sacrifice Day 3 National holiday
August 25 Saturday Feast of the Sacrifice Day 4 National holiday
September 11 Tuesday Coptic New Year Observance
September 12 Wednesday Muharram Public Holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
October 6 Saturday Armed Forces Day Observance
November 21 Wednesday Prophet Mohamed's birthday National holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday January 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 7 Monday Coptic Christmas Day National holiday
January 25 Friday Revolution Day January 25 National holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 25 Thursday Sinai Liberation Day National holiday
April 26 Friday Coptic Good Friday Observance
April 27 Saturday Coptic Holy Saturday Observance
April 28 Sunday Coptic Easter Sunday National holiday
April 29 Monday Spring Festival National holiday
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day Public Holiday
June 5 Wednesday End of Ramadan Muslim holiday
June 6 Thursday End of Ramadan Day 2 National holiday
June 7 Friday End of Ramadan Day 3 National holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
June 30 Sunday June 30 Uprising National holiday
July 1 Monday July 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
July 23 Tuesday Revolution Day July 23 National holiday
August 12 Monday Feast of the Sacrifice Public Holiday
August 13 Tuesday Feast of the Sacrifice Day 2 National holiday
August 14 Wednesday Feast of the Sacrifice Day 3 National holiday
August 15 Thursday Feast of the Sacrifice Day 4 National holiday
August 15 Thursday Flooding of the Nile Observance
September 1 Sunday Muharram Public Holiday
September 12 Thursday Coptic New Year Observance
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
October 6 Sunday Armed Forces Day Observance
November 10 Sunday Prophet Mohamed's birthday National holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday January 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 7 Tuesday Coptic Christmas Day National holiday
January 25 Saturday Revolution Day January 25 National holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 17 Friday Coptic Good Friday Observance
April 18 Saturday Coptic Holy Saturday Observance
April 19 Sunday Coptic Easter Sunday National holiday
April 20 Monday Spring Festival National holiday
April 25 Saturday Sinai Liberation Day National holiday
May 1 Friday Labor Day Public Holiday
May 24 Sunday End of Ramadan Muslim holiday
May 25 Monday End of Ramadan Day 2 National holiday
May 26 Tuesday End of Ramadan Day 3 National holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
June 30 Tuesday June 30 Uprising National holiday
July 1 Wednesday July 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
July 23 Thursday Revolution Day July 23 National holiday
July 31 Friday Feast of the Sacrifice Public Holiday
August 1 Saturday Feast of the Sacrifice Day 2 National holiday
August 2 Sunday Feast of the Sacrifice Day 3 National holiday
August 3 Monday Feast of the Sacrifice Day 4 National holiday
August 15 Saturday Flooding of the Nile Observance
August 20 Thursday Muharram Public Holiday
September 11 Friday Coptic New Year Observance
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 6 Tuesday Armed Forces Day Observance
October 29 Thursday Prophet Mohamed's birthday National holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season