Public holidays and observances in Ethiopia

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 7 Sunday Ethiopian Christmas Day Public Holiday
January 19 Friday Epiphany Common Local holiday
March 2 Friday Adwa Victory Day Public Holiday
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
April 6 Friday Ethiopian Good Friday Public Holiday
April 8 Sunday Ethiopian Easter Sunday Public Holiday
May 1 Tuesday International Labor Day Public Holiday
May 5 Saturday Freedom Day National holiday
May 28 Monday Derg Downfall Day Public Holiday
June 15 Friday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
August 22 Wednesday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
September 11 Tuesday Ethiopian New Year Public Holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
November 21 Wednesday The Prophet's Birthday Public Holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 7 Monday Ethiopian Christmas Day Public Holiday
January 20 Sunday Epiphany Common Local holiday
March 2 Saturday Adwa Victory Day Public Holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 26 Friday Ethiopian Good Friday Public Holiday
April 28 Sunday Ethiopian Easter Sunday Public Holiday
May 1 Wednesday International Labor Day Public Holiday
May 5 Sunday Freedom Day National holiday
May 28 Tuesday Derg Downfall Day Public Holiday
June 5 Wednesday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
August 12 Monday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
September 12 Thursday Ethiopian New Year Public Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
November 10 Sunday The Prophet's Birthday Public Holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 7 Tuesday Ethiopian Christmas Day Public Holiday
March 2 Monday Adwa Victory Day Public Holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 17 Friday Ethiopian Good Friday Public Holiday
April 19 Sunday Ethiopian Easter Sunday Public Holiday
May 1 Friday International Labor Day Public Holiday
May 5 Tuesday Freedom Day National holiday
May 24 Sunday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim holiday
May 28 Thursday Derg Downfall Day Public Holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 31 Friday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
September 11 Friday Ethiopian New Year Public Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 29 Thursday The Prophet's Birthday Public Holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season