Public holidays and observances in Hong Kong

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
February 16 Friday Chinese Lunar New Year's Day National holiday
February 17 Saturday Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
February 19 Monday Third day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
March 31 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 1 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 2 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 5 Thursday Ching Ming Festival National holiday
May 1 Tuesday Labour Day National holiday
May 22 Tuesday Buddha's Birthday National holiday
June 18 Monday Dragon Boat Festival National holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
July 1 Sunday Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day National holiday
July 2 Monday Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day observed National holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
September 25 Tuesday Day after Mid-Autumn Festival National holiday
October 1 Monday National Day of the People's Republic of China National holiday
October 17 Wednesday Chung Yeung Festival National holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Wednesday Boxing Day National holiday

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
February 5 Tuesday Chinese Lunar New Year's Day National holiday
February 6 Wednesday Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
February 7 Thursday Third day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 5 Friday Ching Ming Festival National holiday
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 20 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 21 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 22 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Wednesday Labour Day National holiday
May 12 Sunday Buddha's Birthday National holiday
June 7 Friday Dragon Boat Festival National holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 1 Monday Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day National holiday
September 14 Saturday Day after Mid-Autumn Festival National holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
October 1 Tuesday National Day of the People's Republic of China National holiday
October 7 Monday Chung Yeung Festival National holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Thursday Boxing Day National holiday

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 25 Saturday Chinese Lunar New Year's Day National holiday
January 27 Monday Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
January 28 Tuesday Third day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 4 Saturday Ching Ming Festival National holiday
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 11 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 12 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 30 Thursday Buddha's Birthday National holiday
May 1 Friday Labour Day National holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
June 25 Thursday Dragon Boat Festival National holiday
July 1 Wednesday Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day National holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 1 Thursday National Day of the People's Republic of China National holiday
October 2 Friday Day after Mid-Autumn Festival National holiday
October 26 Monday Chung Yeung Festival National holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday Boxing Day National holiday