Public holidays and observances in Italy

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Saturday Epiphany Common Local holiday
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 1 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 2 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 25 Wednesday The Feast of St Mark Local holiday
April 25 Wednesday Liberation Day National holiday
May 1 Tuesday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
June 2 Saturday Republic Day Public Holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
June 24 Sunday The Feast of St. John (Florence, Genoa, Turin) Local holiday
June 29 Friday The Feast of St. Peter and St. Paul (Rome) Local holiday
August 15 Wednesday Assumption of Mary / Ferragosto National holiday
September 19 Wednesday The Feast of Saint Januarius (Naples) Local holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
November 1 Thursday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 7 Friday The Feast of St. Ambrose (Milan) Local holiday
December 8 Saturday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Wednesday St. Stephen's Day National holiday
December 31 Monday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Sunday Epiphany Common Local holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 21 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 22 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 25 Thursday The Feast of St Mark Local holiday
April 25 Thursday Liberation Day National holiday
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
June 2 Sunday Republic Day Public Holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
June 24 Monday The Feast of St. John (Florence, Genoa, Turin) Local holiday
June 29 Saturday The Feast of St. Peter and St. Paul (Rome) Local holiday
August 15 Thursday Assumption of Mary / Ferragosto National holiday
September 19 Thursday The Feast of Saint Januarius (Naples) Local holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
November 1 Friday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 7 Saturday The Feast of St. Ambrose (Milan) Local holiday
December 8 Sunday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Thursday St. Stephen's Day National holiday
December 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Monday Epiphany Common Local holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 12 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 25 Saturday The Feast of St Mark Local holiday
April 25 Saturday Liberation Day National holiday
May 1 Friday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
June 2 Tuesday Republic Day Public Holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
June 24 Wednesday The Feast of St. John (Florence, Genoa, Turin) Local holiday
June 29 Monday The Feast of St. Peter and St. Paul (Rome) Local holiday
August 15 Saturday Assumption of Mary / Ferragosto National holiday
September 19 Saturday The Feast of Saint Januarius (Naples) Local holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
November 1 Sunday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 7 Monday The Feast of St. Ambrose (Milan) Local holiday
December 8 Tuesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday St. Stephen's Day National holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance