Public holidays and observances in Japan

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Tuesday January 2 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 3 Wednesday January 3 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 8 Monday Coming of Age Day National holiday
February 11 Sunday National Foundation Day National holiday
February 12 Monday National Foundation Day observed National holiday
March 3 Saturday Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival Observance
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 21 Wednesday Spring Equinox National holiday
April 29 Sunday Sh?wa Day National holiday
April 30 Monday Sh?wa Day observed National holiday
May 3 Thursday Constitution Memorial Day National holiday
May 4 Friday Greenery Day National holiday
May 5 Saturday Children's Day Observance
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
July 7 Saturday Star Festival Observance
July 16 Monday Sea Day National holiday
August 11 Saturday Mountain Day National holiday
September 17 Monday Respect for the Aged Day National holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
September 23 Sunday Autumn Equinox National holiday
September 24 Monday Autumn Equinox observed National holiday
October 8 Monday Sports Day National holiday
November 3 Saturday Culture Day National holiday
November 15 Thursday 7-5-3 Day Observance
November 23 Friday Labor Thanksgiving Day National holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 23 Sunday Emperor's Birthday National holiday
December 24 Monday Emperor's Birthday observed National holiday
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
December 31 Monday December 31 Bank Holiday Bank holiday

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Wednesday January 2 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 3 Thursday January 3 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 14 Monday Coming of Age Day National holiday
February 11 Monday National Foundation Day National holiday
March 3 Sunday Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival Observance
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
March 21 Thursday Spring Equinox National holiday
April 29 Monday Sh?wa Day National holiday
May 3 Friday Constitution Memorial Day National holiday
May 4 Saturday Greenery Day National holiday
May 5 Sunday Children's Day Observance
May 6 Monday Children's Day observed National holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 7 Sunday Star Festival Observance
July 15 Monday Sea Day National holiday
August 11 Sunday Mountain Day National holiday
August 12 Monday Mountain Day observed National holiday
September 16 Monday Respect for the Aged Day National holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 23 Monday Autumn Equinox National holiday
October 14 Monday Sports Day National holiday
November 3 Sunday Culture Day National holiday
November 4 Monday Culture Day observed National holiday
November 15 Friday 7-5-3 Day Observance
November 23 Saturday Labor Thanksgiving Day National holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 23 Monday Emperor's Birthday National holiday
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
December 31 Tuesday December 31 Bank Holiday Bank holiday

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Thursday January 2 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 3 Friday January 3 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 13 Monday Coming of Age Day National holiday
February 11 Tuesday National Foundation Day National holiday
March 3 Tuesday Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival Observance
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 20 Friday Spring Equinox National holiday
April 29 Wednesday Sh?wa Day National holiday
May 3 Sunday Constitution Memorial Day National holiday
May 4 Monday Greenery Day National holiday
May 5 Tuesday Children's Day Observance
May 6 Wednesday Constitution Memorial Day observed National holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 7 Tuesday Star Festival Observance
July 20 Monday Sea Day National holiday
August 11 Tuesday Mountain Day National holiday
September 21 Monday Respect for the Aged Day National holiday
September 22 Tuesday Bridge Public holiday National holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
September 22 Tuesday Autumn Equinox National holiday
October 12 Monday Sports Day National holiday
November 3 Tuesday Culture Day National holiday
November 15 Sunday 7-5-3 Day Observance
November 23 Monday Labor Thanksgiving Day National holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 23 Wednesday Emperor's Birthday National holiday
December 25 Friday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
December 31 Thursday December 31 Bank Holiday Bank holiday