Public holidays and observances in Kazakhstan

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Tuesday New Year's (Day 2) Public Holiday
January 7 Sunday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 8 Monday Orthodox Christmas Day observed Public Holiday
March 8 Thursday International Women's Day United Nations observance
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 21 Wednesday Nauryz Public Holiday
March 22 Thursday Nauryz (Day 2) Public Holiday
March 23 Friday Nauryz (Day 3) Public Holiday
May 1 Tuesday Unity Day Public Holiday
May 7 Monday Defender of the Fatherland Day Public Holiday
May 9 Wednesday Victory Day Public Holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
July 6 Friday Day of the Capital Public Holiday
August 22 Wednesday Kurban Bairam Public Holiday
August 30 Thursday Constitution Day Public Holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
December 1 Saturday Day of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Public Holiday
December 3 Monday Day of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan observed Public Holiday
December 16 Sunday Independence Day Public Holiday
December 17 Monday Independence Day observed Public Holiday
December 17 Monday Independence Day (day 2) National holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 31 Monday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Wednesday New Year's (Day 2) Public Holiday
January 7 Monday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
March 8 Friday International Women's Day United Nations observance
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
March 21 Thursday Nauryz Public Holiday
March 22 Friday Nauryz (Day 2) Public Holiday
March 23 Saturday Nauryz (Day 3) Public Holiday
March 25 Monday Nauryz (Day 3) observed Public Holiday
May 1 Wednesday Unity Day Public Holiday
May 7 Tuesday Defender of the Fatherland Day Public Holiday
May 9 Thursday Victory Day Public Holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 6 Saturday Day of the Capital Public Holiday
July 8 Monday Day of the Capital observed Public Holiday
August 12 Monday Kurban Bairam Public Holiday
August 30 Friday Constitution Day Public Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
December 1 Sunday Day of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Public Holiday
December 2 Monday Day of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan observed Public Holiday
December 16 Monday Independence Day Public Holiday
December 17 Tuesday Independence Day (day 2) National holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Thursday New Year's (Day 2) Public Holiday
January 7 Tuesday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
March 8 Sunday International Women's Day United Nations observance
March 9 Monday International Women's Day observed Public Holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 21 Saturday Nauryz Public Holiday
March 22 Sunday Nauryz (Day 2) Public Holiday
March 23 Monday Nauryz (Day 2) observed Public Holiday
March 23 Monday Nauryz (Day 3) Public Holiday
March 23 Monday Nauryz observed Public Holiday
May 1 Friday Unity Day Public Holiday
May 7 Thursday Defender of the Fatherland Day Public Holiday
May 9 Saturday Victory Day Public Holiday
May 11 Monday Victory Day observed Public Holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 6 Monday Day of the Capital Public Holiday
July 31 Friday Kurban Bairam Public Holiday
August 30 Sunday Constitution Day Public Holiday
August 31 Monday Constitution Day observed Public Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
December 1 Tuesday Day of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Public Holiday
December 16 Wednesday Independence Day Public Holiday
December 17 Thursday Independence Day (day 2) National holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance