Public holidays and observances in Macedonia

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Saturday Christmas Eve (Orthodox) Optional Holiday
January 7 Sunday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 19 Friday Epiphany (Orthodox) Optional Holiday
January 27 Saturday St Sava's Day Optional Holiday
February 14 Wednesday Valentine's Day Observance
March 8 Thursday Mothers' Day/International Women's Day Observance
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 25 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
March 31 Saturday Easter Saturday National and Christian holiday
April 1 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 2 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 6 Friday Good Friday (Orthodox) National and Orthodox holiday
April 7 Saturday Easter Saturday (Orthodox) Observance and Orthodox holiday
April 8 Sunday Easter Sunday (Orthodox) Observance and Orthodox holiday
April 8 Sunday International Romani Day (for Romani community) Optional Holiday
April 9 Monday Easter Monday (Orthodox) National and Orthodox holiday
May 1 Tuesday Labour Day National holiday
May 23 Wednesday Vlach’s National Day (for Vlach community) Optional Holiday
May 24 Thursday Saints Cyril and Methodius' Day National holiday
June 15 Friday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
August 2 Thursday Republic Day Public Holiday
August 22 Wednesday Eid-al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) National holiday
August 28 Tuesday Feast of the Assumption of Mary (Orthodox) Optional Holiday
September 8 Saturday Independence Day Public Holiday
September 9 Sunday Fathers' Day Observance
September 19 Wednesday First day of Yom Kippur (Jewish community) Optional Holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
September 28 Friday International Bosniaks' Day (for Bosniak community) Optional Holiday
October 11 Thursday Day of People’s Uprising National holiday
October 23 Tuesday Day of the Macedonian Revolutionary Struggle National holiday
October 28 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
October 31 Wednesday Halloween Observance
November 1 Thursday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 22 Thursday Albanian Alphabet Day (Albanian community) Optional Holiday
December 8 Saturday Saint Kliment Ohridski's Day National holiday
December 21 Friday Turkish Language Day (Turkish community) Optional Holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Monday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Sunday Christmas Eve (Orthodox) Optional Holiday
January 7 Monday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 19 Saturday Epiphany (Orthodox) Optional Holiday
January 27 Sunday St Sava's Day Optional Holiday
February 14 Thursday Valentine's Day Observance
March 8 Friday Mothers' Day/International Women's Day Observance
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
March 31 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
April 8 Monday International Romani Day (for Romani community) Optional Holiday
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 20 Saturday Easter Saturday National and Christian holiday
April 21 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 22 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 26 Friday Good Friday (Orthodox) National and Orthodox holiday
April 27 Saturday Easter Saturday (Orthodox) Observance and Orthodox holiday
April 28 Sunday Easter Sunday (Orthodox) Observance and Orthodox holiday
April 29 Monday Easter Monday (Orthodox) National and Orthodox holiday
May 1 Wednesday Labour Day National holiday
May 23 Thursday Vlach’s National Day (for Vlach community) Optional Holiday
May 24 Friday Saints Cyril and Methodius' Day National holiday
June 5 Wednesday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
August 2 Friday Republic Day Public Holiday
August 12 Monday Eid-al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) National holiday
August 28 Wednesday Feast of the Assumption of Mary (Orthodox) Optional Holiday
September 8 Sunday Independence Day Public Holiday
September 8 Sunday Fathers' Day Observance
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 28 Saturday International Bosniaks' Day (for Bosniak community) Optional Holiday
October 9 Wednesday First day of Yom Kippur (Jewish community) Optional Holiday
October 11 Friday Day of People’s Uprising National holiday
October 23 Wednesday Day of the Macedonian Revolutionary Struggle National holiday
October 27 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
October 31 Thursday Halloween Observance
November 1 Friday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 22 Friday Albanian Alphabet Day (Albanian community) Optional Holiday
December 8 Sunday Saint Kliment Ohridski's Day National holiday
December 21 Saturday Turkish Language Day (Turkish community) Optional Holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Monday Christmas Eve (Orthodox) Optional Holiday
January 7 Tuesday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 19 Sunday Epiphany (Orthodox) Optional Holiday
January 27 Monday St Sava's Day Optional Holiday
February 14 Friday Valentine's Day Observance
March 8 Sunday Mothers' Day/International Women's Day Observance
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 29 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
April 8 Wednesday International Romani Day (for Romani community) Optional Holiday
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 11 Saturday Easter Saturday National and Christian holiday
April 12 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 17 Friday Good Friday (Orthodox) National and Orthodox holiday
April 18 Saturday Easter Saturday (Orthodox) Observance and Orthodox holiday
April 19 Sunday Easter Sunday (Orthodox) Observance and Orthodox holiday
April 20 Monday Easter Monday (Orthodox) National and Orthodox holiday
May 1 Friday Labour Day National holiday
May 23 Saturday Vlach’s National Day (for Vlach community) Optional Holiday
May 24 Sunday Saints Cyril and Methodius' Day National holiday
May 24 Sunday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 31 Friday Eid-al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) National holiday
August 2 Sunday Republic Day Public Holiday
August 28 Friday Feast of the Assumption of Mary (Orthodox) Optional Holiday
September 8 Tuesday Independence Day Public Holiday
September 13 Sunday Fathers' Day Observance
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
September 28 Monday First day of Yom Kippur (Jewish community) Optional Holiday
September 28 Monday International Bosniaks' Day (for Bosniak community) Optional Holiday
October 11 Sunday Day of People’s Uprising National holiday
October 23 Friday Day of the Macedonian Revolutionary Struggle National holiday
October 25 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
October 31 Saturday Halloween Observance
November 1 Sunday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 22 Sunday Albanian Alphabet Day (Albanian community) Optional Holiday
December 8 Tuesday Saint Kliment Ohridski's Day National holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 21 Monday Turkish Language Day (Turkish community) Optional Holiday
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance