Public holidays and observances in Malaysia

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
January 31 Wednesday Thaipusam Bank holiday
February 1 Thursday Federal Territory Day Bank holiday
February 16 Friday Chinese Lunar New Year's Day National holiday
February 17 Saturday Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 1 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 13 Friday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
May 1 Tuesday Labour Day National holiday
May 16 Wednesday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
May 30 Wednesday Harvest Festival Common Local holiday
May 31 Thursday Harvest Festival Day 2 Common Local holiday
June 2 Saturday The Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday Federal Public Holiday
June 15 Friday Hari Raya Puasa Day 1 Federal Public Holiday
June 16 Saturday Hari Raya Puasa Day 2 Federal Public Holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
July 7 Saturday Georgetown World Heritage City Day Common Local holiday
July 14 Saturday Penang Governor's Birthday Common Local holiday
August 22 Wednesday Hari Raya Haji Federal Public Holiday
August 31 Friday Malaysia's National Day Federal Public Holiday
September 12 Wednesday Muharram/New Year Muslim holiday
September 16 Sunday Malaysia Day Federal Public Holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
November 7 Wednesday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
November 21 Wednesday The Prophet Muhammad's Birthday Public Holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Monday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
February 1 Friday Federal Territory Day Bank holiday
February 5 Tuesday Chinese Lunar New Year's Day National holiday
February 6 Wednesday Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 3 Wednesday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 21 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
May 1 Wednesday Labour Day National holiday
May 6 Monday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
May 30 Thursday Harvest Festival Common Local holiday
May 31 Friday Harvest Festival Day 2 Common Local holiday
June 1 Saturday The Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday Federal Public Holiday
June 5 Wednesday Hari Raya Puasa Day 1 Federal Public Holiday
June 6 Thursday Hari Raya Puasa Day 2 Federal Public Holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 7 Sunday Georgetown World Heritage City Day Common Local holiday
July 13 Saturday Penang Governor's Birthday Common Local holiday
August 12 Monday Hari Raya Haji Federal Public Holiday
August 31 Saturday Malaysia's National Day Federal Public Holiday
September 1 Sunday Muharram/New Year Muslim holiday
September 16 Monday Malaysia Day Federal Public Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
October 27 Sunday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
November 10 Sunday The Prophet Muhammad's Birthday Public Holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 25 Saturday Chinese Lunar New Year's Day National holiday
January 26 Sunday Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
February 1 Saturday Federal Territory Day Bank holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 22 Sunday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 12 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 24 Friday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
May 1 Friday Labour Day National holiday
May 24 Sunday Hari Raya Puasa Day 1 Federal Public Holiday
May 25 Monday Hari Raya Puasa Day 2 Federal Public Holiday
May 30 Saturday Harvest Festival Common Local holiday
May 31 Sunday Harvest Festival Day 2 Common Local holiday
June 6 Saturday The Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday Federal Public Holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 7 Tuesday Georgetown World Heritage City Day Common Local holiday
July 11 Saturday Penang Governor's Birthday Common Local holiday
July 31 Friday Hari Raya Haji Federal Public Holiday
August 20 Thursday Muharram/New Year Muslim holiday
August 31 Monday Malaysia's National Day Federal Public Holiday
September 16 Wednesday Malaysia Day Federal Public Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 29 Thursday The Prophet Muhammad's Birthday Public Holiday
November 14 Saturday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance