Public holidays and observances in Nicaragua

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 29 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
March 31 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 1 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
May 1 Tuesday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
May 30 Wednesday Mothers' Day Observance
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
July 19 Thursday The Sandinista Revolution Day National holiday
August 1 Wednesday Santo Domingo Celebrations Start Observance
August 10 Friday Last Day of Santo Domingo Celebrations Observance
September 2 Sunday Army Day National holiday
September 14 Friday Battle of San Jacinto National holiday
September 15 Saturday Independence Day Public Holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
October 12 Friday Indigenous Resistance Day Observance
November 2 Friday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 8 Saturday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Monday New Year´s Eve Observance

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 18 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 20 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 21 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
May 30 Thursday Mothers' Day Observance
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 19 Friday The Sandinista Revolution Day National holiday
August 1 Thursday Santo Domingo Celebrations Start Observance
August 10 Saturday Last Day of Santo Domingo Celebrations Observance
September 2 Monday Army Day National holiday
September 14 Saturday Battle of San Jacinto National holiday
September 15 Sunday Independence Day Public Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
October 12 Saturday Indigenous Resistance Day Observance
November 2 Saturday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 8 Sunday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Tuesday New Year´s Eve Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 9 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 11 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 12 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
May 1 Friday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
May 30 Saturday Mothers' Day Observance
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 19 Sunday The Sandinista Revolution Day National holiday
August 1 Saturday Santo Domingo Celebrations Start Observance
August 10 Monday Last Day of Santo Domingo Celebrations Observance
September 2 Wednesday Army Day National holiday
September 14 Monday Battle of San Jacinto National holiday
September 15 Tuesday Independence Day Public Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 12 Monday Indigenous Resistance Day Observance
November 2 Monday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 8 Tuesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year´s Eve Observance