Public holidays and observances in Pakistan

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday January 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 29 Wednesday Basant Panchami Optional Holiday
February 5 Wednesday Kashmir Day Public Holiday
February 21 Friday Maha Shivaratri Optional Holiday
March 9 Monday Holi National and Hinduism holiday
March 10 Tuesday Dulhandi Optional Holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 22 Sunday Shab e-Meraj Optional Holiday
March 23 Monday Pakistan Day Public Holiday
April 8 Wednesday Shab e-Barat Public Holiday
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 12 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 13 Monday Baisakhi Optional Holiday
April 20 Monday Ridván Optional Holiday
May 1 Friday Labour Day National holiday
May 7 Thursday Buddha Purnima Optional Holiday
May 24 Sunday Eid-ul-Fitr Day 1 Public Holiday
May 26 Tuesday Eid-ul-Fitr Day 3 Public Holiday
May 27 Wednesday Eid-ul-Fitr Day 4 Public Holiday
June 21 Sunday June Solstice Season
July 1 Wednesday July 1 Bank Holiday Bank holiday
July 31 Friday Eid al-Adha Day 1 Public Holiday
August 1 Saturday Eid al-Adha Day 2 Public Holiday
August 2 Sunday Eid al-Adha Day 3 Public Holiday
August 3 Monday Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday
August 12 Wednesday Janmashtami Public Holiday
August 14 Friday Independence Day Public Holiday
August 21 Friday Birthday of Lord Zoroaster (Khordad Sal) Optional Holiday
August 22 Saturday Ganesh Chaturthi Public Holiday
August 28 Friday First Day of Ashura Public Holiday
August 29 Saturday Second Day of Ashura Public Holiday
September 6 Sunday Defence Day Observance
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 7 Wednesday Chelum Optional Holiday
October 17 Saturday First Day of Navaratri Hindu Holiday
October 23 Friday Durga Pooja Optional Holiday
October 25 Sunday Dussehra Gazetted Holiday
October 31 Saturday Birthday of Guru Balmik Sawami Ji Optional Holiday
November 9 Monday Iqbal Day Optional Holiday
November 14 Saturday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
November 30 Monday Guru Nanak's Birthday Optional Holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 25 Friday Quaid-e-Azam Day Public Holiday
December 26 Saturday Day After Christmas Public Holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance