Public holidays and observances in Portugal

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
February 13 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 25 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 1 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 25 Wednesday Liberty Day Public Holiday
May 1 Tuesday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
May 31 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 10 Sunday Portugal Day National holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
August 15 Wednesday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
October 5 Friday Republic Implantation National holiday
October 28 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
November 1 Thursday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 1 Saturday Restoration of Independence National holiday
December 8 Saturday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Monday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
March 5 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
March 31 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 21 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 25 Thursday Liberty Day Public Holiday
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
June 10 Monday Portugal Day National holiday
June 20 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
August 15 Thursday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
October 5 Saturday Republic Implantation National holiday
October 27 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
November 1 Friday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 1 Sunday Restoration of Independence National holiday
December 8 Sunday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
February 25 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 29 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 12 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 25 Saturday Liberty Day Public Holiday
May 1 Friday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
June 10 Wednesday Portugal Day National holiday
June 11 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
August 15 Saturday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 5 Monday Republic Implantation National holiday
October 25 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
November 1 Sunday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 1 Tuesday Restoration of Independence National holiday
December 8 Tuesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance