Public holidays and observances in Rwanda

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year Public Holiday
February 1 Thursday National Heroes' Day Public Holiday
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 7 Saturday Tutsi Genocide Memorial Day Public Holiday
May 1 Tuesday May Day National holiday
June 15 Friday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
July 1 Sunday Independence Day Public Holiday
July 4 Wednesday Liberation Day National holiday
August 15 Wednesday Assumption Day Observance
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Wednesday Boxing Day National holiday

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year Public Holiday
February 1 Friday National Heroes' Day Public Holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 7 Sunday Tutsi Genocide Memorial Day Public Holiday
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
May 1 Wednesday May Day National holiday
June 5 Wednesday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 1 Monday Independence Day Public Holiday
July 4 Thursday Liberation Day National holiday
August 15 Thursday Assumption Day Observance
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Thursday Boxing Day National holiday

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year Public Holiday
February 1 Saturday National Heroes' Day Public Holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 7 Tuesday Tutsi Genocide Memorial Day Public Holiday
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
May 1 Friday May Day National holiday
May 24 Sunday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 1 Wednesday Independence Day Public Holiday
July 4 Saturday Liberation Day National holiday
August 15 Saturday Assumption Day Observance
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday Boxing Day National holiday