Public holidays and observances in Saudi Arabia

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
May 16 Wednesday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
June 15 Friday Eid-al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) National holiday
June 16 Saturday Eid-al-Fitr holiday National holiday
June 17 Sunday Eid-al-Fitr holiday National holiday
June 18 Monday Eid-al-Fitr Holiday (public sector only) Observance
June 19 Tuesday Eid-al-Fitr Holiday (public sector only) Observance
June 20 Wednesday Eid-al-Fitr Holiday (public sector only) Observance
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
June 21 Thursday Eid-al-Fitr holiday National holiday
August 22 Wednesday Eid-al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) National holiday
August 23 Thursday Eid-al-Adha holiday National holiday
August 24 Friday Eid-al-Adha holiday National holiday
August 25 Saturday Eid-al-Adha holiday National holiday
September 12 Wednesday Muharram (Muslim New Year) Observance
September 23 Sunday Saudi National Day National holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
November 21 Wednesday Prophet's Birthday Muslim holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
May 6 Monday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
June 5 Wednesday Eid-al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) National holiday
June 6 Thursday Eid-al-Fitr holiday National holiday
June 7 Friday Eid-al-Fitr holiday National holiday
June 8 Saturday Eid-al-Fitr Holiday (public sector only) Observance
June 9 Sunday Eid-al-Fitr Holiday (public sector only) Observance
June 10 Monday Eid-al-Fitr Holiday (public sector only) Observance
June 11 Tuesday Eid-al-Fitr holiday National holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
August 12 Monday Eid-al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) National holiday
August 13 Tuesday Eid-al-Adha holiday National holiday
August 14 Wednesday Eid-al-Adha holiday National holiday
August 15 Thursday Eid-al-Adha holiday National holiday
September 1 Sunday Muharram (Muslim New Year) Observance
September 23 Monday Saudi National Day National holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
November 10 Sunday Prophet's Birthday Muslim holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 24 Friday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
May 24 Sunday Eid-al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) National holiday
May 25 Monday Eid-al-Fitr holiday National holiday
May 26 Tuesday Eid-al-Fitr holiday National holiday
May 27 Wednesday Eid-al-Fitr Holiday (public sector only) Observance
May 28 Thursday Eid-al-Fitr Holiday (public sector only) Observance
May 29 Friday Eid-al-Fitr Holiday (public sector only) Observance
May 30 Saturday Eid-al-Fitr holiday National holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 31 Friday Eid-al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) National holiday
August 1 Saturday Eid-al-Adha holiday National holiday
August 2 Sunday Eid-al-Adha holiday National holiday
August 3 Monday Eid-al-Adha holiday National holiday
August 20 Thursday Muharram (Muslim New Year) Observance
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
September 23 Wednesday Saudi National Day National holiday
October 29 Thursday Prophet's Birthday Muslim holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season