Public holidays and observances in Sri Lanka

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 15 Tuesday Tamil Thai Pongal Day Public Holiday
January 20 Sunday Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
February 4 Monday National Day Public Holiday
February 14 Thursday Valentine's Day Observance
February 19 Tuesday Navam Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
March 4 Monday Mahasivarathri Day Public Holiday
March 20 Wednesday Madin Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
March 21 Thursday Holi National and Hinduism holiday
March 21 Thursday March equinox Season
April 13 Saturday Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Eve Public Holiday
April 14 Sunday Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Day Public Holiday
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 19 Friday Bak Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
April 21 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
May 1 Wednesday May Day National holiday
May 12 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 18 Saturday Vesak Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
May 20 Monday Day after Vesak Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
June 5 Wednesday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 16 Sunday Poson Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
June 16 Sunday Father's Day Observance
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 16 Tuesday Esala Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
August 12 Monday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
August 14 Wednesday Nikini Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
August 15 Thursday Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday
August 24 Saturday Janmashtami Public Holiday
September 2 Monday Ganesh Chaturthi Public Holiday
September 13 Friday Binara Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 29 Sunday Navaratri Hindu Holiday
October 8 Tuesday Dussehra Gazetted Holiday
October 13 Sunday Vap Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
October 27 Sunday Deepavali Public Holiday
November 10 Sunday Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet's Birthday) Public Holiday
November 12 Tuesday Il Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
December 11 Wednesday Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 11 Saturday Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
January 15 Wednesday Tamil Thai Pongal Day Public Holiday
February 4 Tuesday National Day Public Holiday
February 9 Sunday Navam Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
February 14 Friday Valentine's Day Observance
February 21 Friday Mahasivarathri Day Public Holiday
March 9 Monday Madin Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
March 10 Tuesday Holi National and Hinduism holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 8 Wednesday Bak Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 12 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 13 Monday Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Eve Public Holiday
April 14 Tuesday Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Day Public Holiday
May 1 Friday May Day National holiday
May 7 Thursday Vesak Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
May 8 Friday Day after Vesak Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
May 10 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 24 Sunday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 6 Saturday Poson Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
June 21 Sunday Father's Day Observance
June 21 Sunday June Solstice Season
July 5 Sunday Esala Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
July 31 Friday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
August 3 Monday Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday
August 3 Monday Nikini Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
August 11 Tuesday Janmashtami Public Holiday
August 22 Saturday Ganesh Chaturthi Public Holiday
September 2 Wednesday Binara Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 2 Friday Vap Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
October 17 Saturday Navaratri Hindu Holiday
October 25 Sunday Dussehra Gazetted Holiday
October 29 Thursday Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet's Birthday) Public Holiday
October 31 Saturday Adhi Vap Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
November 14 Saturday Deepavali Public Holiday
November 30 Monday Il Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 30 Wednesday Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day Public Holiday