Public holidays and observances in Switzerland

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Tuesday Berchtold Day Bank holiday
January 6 Saturday Epiphany Common Local holiday
March 19 Monday Saint Joseph's Day Observance
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 1 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 2 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 16 Monday Sechseläuten Observance
May 1 Tuesday May Day National holiday
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
May 20 Sunday Pentecost Christian holiday
May 21 Monday Pentecost Monday Common Local holiday
May 31 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
June 29 Friday St. Peter and St. Paul Common Local holiday
August 1 Wednesday Swiss National Day National holiday
August 15 Wednesday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
September 6 Thursday Jeune Genevois Common Local holiday
September 8 Saturday Knabenschiessen Observance
September 9 Sunday Knabenschiessen Observance
September 10 Monday Knabenschiessen Observance
September 16 Sunday Swiss federal fast Observance
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
November 1 Thursday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 8 Saturday Immaculate Conception National holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Wednesday St. Stephen's Day National holiday
December 31 Monday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Wednesday Berchtold Day Bank holiday
January 6 Sunday Epiphany Common Local holiday
March 19 Tuesday Saint Joseph's Day Observance
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 15 Monday Sechseläuten Observance
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 21 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 22 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Wednesday May Day National holiday
May 30 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
June 9 Sunday Pentecost Christian holiday
June 10 Monday Pentecost Monday Common Local holiday
June 20 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
June 29 Saturday St. Peter and St. Paul Common Local holiday
August 1 Thursday Swiss National Day National holiday
August 15 Thursday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
September 5 Thursday Jeune Genevois Common Local holiday
September 7 Saturday Knabenschiessen Observance
September 8 Sunday Knabenschiessen Observance
September 9 Monday Knabenschiessen Observance
September 15 Sunday Swiss federal fast Observance
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
November 1 Friday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 8 Sunday Immaculate Conception National holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Thursday St. Stephen's Day National holiday
December 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Thursday Berchtold Day Bank holiday
January 6 Monday Epiphany Common Local holiday
March 19 Thursday Saint Joseph's Day Observance
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 12 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 20 Monday Sechseläuten Observance
May 1 Friday May Day National holiday
May 21 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
May 31 Sunday Pentecost Christian holiday
June 1 Monday Pentecost Monday Common Local holiday
June 11 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
June 29 Monday St. Peter and St. Paul Common Local holiday
August 1 Saturday Swiss National Day National holiday
August 15 Saturday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
September 10 Thursday Jeune Genevois Common Local holiday
September 12 Saturday Knabenschiessen Observance
September 13 Sunday Knabenschiessen Observance
September 14 Monday Knabenschiessen Observance
September 20 Sunday Swiss federal fast Observance
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
November 1 Sunday All Saints' Day Silent Day
December 8 Tuesday Immaculate Conception National holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday St. Stephen's Day National holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance