Public holidays and observances in Uganda

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year Public Holiday
January 26 Friday Liberation Day National holiday
February 16 Friday Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum Public Holiday
March 8 Thursday International Women's Day United Nations observance
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 1 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 2 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Tuesday May Day National holiday
May 13 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
June 3 Sunday Martyr's Day Observance
June 9 Saturday National Heroes Day Public Holiday
June 15 Friday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 21 Thursday Father's Day Observance
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
August 22 Wednesday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
October 9 Tuesday Independence Day Public Holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Wednesday Boxing Day National holiday

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year Public Holiday
January 26 Saturday Liberation Day National holiday
February 16 Saturday Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum Public Holiday
March 8 Friday International Women's Day United Nations observance
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 21 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 22 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Wednesday May Day National holiday
May 12 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
June 3 Monday Martyr's Day Observance
June 5 Wednesday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 9 Sunday National Heroes Day Public Holiday
June 21 Friday Father's Day Observance
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
August 12 Monday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
October 9 Wednesday Independence Day Public Holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Thursday Boxing Day National holiday

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year Public Holiday
January 26 Sunday Liberation Day National holiday
February 16 Sunday Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum Public Holiday
March 8 Sunday International Women's Day United Nations observance
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 12 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Friday May Day National holiday
May 10 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 24 Sunday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
June 3 Wednesday Martyr's Day Observance
June 9 Tuesday National Heroes Day Public Holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
June 21 Sunday Father's Day Observance
July 31 Friday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
October 9 Friday Independence Day Public Holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday Boxing Day National holiday