Public holidays and observances in Australia

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Saturday Epiphany Common Local holiday
January 7 Sunday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 14 Sunday Orthodox New Year Orthodox holiday
January 26 Friday Australia Day National holiday
January 31 Wednesday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
February 12 Monday Royal Hobart Regatta State holiday
February 13 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
February 14 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian holiday
February 14 Wednesday Valentine's Day Observance
February 16 Friday Chinese New Year Observance
March 1 Thursday Purim Jewish holiday
March 5 Monday Labour Day National holiday
March 12 Monday Eight Hours Day Common State holiday
March 12 Monday Labour Day National holiday
March 12 Monday Adelaide Cup State holiday
March 12 Monday Canberra Day State holiday
March 17 Saturday St Patrick's Day Observance
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 21 Wednesday Harmony Day Observance
March 25 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance
March 29 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
March 31 Saturday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
March 31 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
March 31 Saturday First day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 1 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 2 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 3 Tuesday Easter Tuesday State holiday
April 6 Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox holiday
April 7 Saturday Last day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 7 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox holiday
April 8 Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox holiday
April 9 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox holiday
April 11 Wednesday Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday
April 13 Friday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
April 19 Thursday Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish holiday
April 25 Wednesday ANZAC Day National holiday
May 3 Thursday Lag B'Omer Jewish holiday
May 7 Monday May Day National holiday
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
May 13 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 16 Wednesday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
May 20 Sunday Shavuot Jewish holiday
May 20 Sunday Pentecost Christian holiday
May 21 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
May 26 Saturday National Sorry Day Observance
May 27 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian holiday
May 31 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 4 Monday Western Australia Day Common State holiday
June 6 Wednesday Queensland Day Local observance
June 10 Sunday Laylat al-Qadr (Night of Destiny) Muslim holiday
June 11 Monday Queen's Birthday Public Holiday
June 15 Friday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
July 1 Sunday First Day of NAIDOC Week Observance
July 22 Sunday Tisha B'Av Jewish holiday
August 6 Monday New South Wales Bank Holiday State holiday
August 6 Monday Northern Territory Picnic Day State holiday
August 15 Wednesday Royal National Agricultural Show Day Queensland State holiday
August 15 Wednesday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
August 22 Wednesday Eid-al-Adha Muslim holiday
September 2 Sunday Father's Day Observance
September 10 Monday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
September 12 Wednesday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim holiday
September 19 Wednesday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
September 24 Monday First day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
September 24 Monday Family & Community Day State holiday
September 30 Sunday Last day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 1 Monday Labour Day National holiday
October 1 Monday Queen's Birthday Public Holiday
October 1 Monday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
October 2 Tuesday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
October 4 Thursday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian holiday
October 6 Saturday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
October 31 Wednesday Halloween Observance
November 1 Thursday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 2 Friday All Souls' Day Christian holiday
November 5 Monday Recreation Day State holiday
November 6 Tuesday Melbourne Cup Day State holiday
November 7 Wednesday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
November 11 Sunday Remembrance Day National holiday
November 21 Wednesday Prophet's Birthday Muslim holiday
December 2 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Observance
December 3 Monday First Day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 8 Saturday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 10 Monday Last day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Wednesday Boxing Day National holiday
December 31 Monday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Sunday Epiphany Common Local holiday
January 7 Monday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 14 Monday Orthodox New Year Orthodox holiday
January 21 Monday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
January 26 Saturday Australia Day National holiday
January 28 Monday Australia Day observed National holiday
February 5 Tuesday Chinese New Year Observance
February 11 Monday Royal Hobart Regatta State holiday
February 14 Thursday Valentine's Day Observance
March 4 Monday Labour Day National holiday
March 5 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
March 6 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian holiday
March 11 Monday Eight Hours Day Common State holiday
March 11 Monday Adelaide Cup State holiday
March 11 Monday Labour Day National holiday
March 11 Monday Canberra Day State holiday
March 17 Sunday St Patrick's Day Observance
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
March 21 Thursday Purim Jewish holiday
March 21 Thursday Harmony Day Observance
April 3 Wednesday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
April 6 Saturday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
April 14 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance
April 18 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 20 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 20 Saturday First day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 21 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 22 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 23 Tuesday Easter Tuesday State holiday
April 25 Thursday ANZAC Day National holiday
April 26 Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox holiday
April 27 Saturday Last day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 27 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox holiday
April 28 Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox holiday
April 29 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox holiday
May 1 Wednesday Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday
May 6 Monday May Day National holiday
May 6 Monday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
May 9 Thursday Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish holiday
May 12 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 23 Thursday Lag B'Omer Jewish holiday
May 26 Sunday National Sorry Day Observance
May 30 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
May 31 Friday Laylat al-Qadr (Night of Destiny) Muslim holiday
June 3 Monday Western Australia Day Common State holiday
June 5 Wednesday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim holiday
June 6 Thursday Queensland Day Local observance
June 9 Sunday Shavuot Jewish holiday
June 9 Sunday Pentecost Christian holiday
June 10 Monday Queen's Birthday Public Holiday
June 10 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
June 16 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian holiday
June 20 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 7 Sunday First Day of NAIDOC Week Observance
August 5 Monday New South Wales Bank Holiday State holiday
August 5 Monday Northern Territory Picnic Day State holiday
August 11 Sunday Tisha B'Av Jewish holiday
August 12 Monday Eid-al-Adha Muslim holiday
August 14 Wednesday Royal National Agricultural Show Day Queensland State holiday
August 15 Thursday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
September 1 Sunday Father's Day Observance
September 1 Sunday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 30 Monday Queen's Birthday Public Holiday
September 30 Monday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
September 30 Monday Family & Community Day State holiday
October 4 Friday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian holiday
October 5 Saturday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
October 7 Monday Labour Day National holiday
October 7 Monday Queen's Birthday Public Holiday
October 9 Wednesday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
October 14 Monday First day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 20 Sunday Last day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 21 Monday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
October 22 Tuesday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
October 27 Sunday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
October 31 Thursday Halloween Observance
November 1 Friday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 2 Saturday All Souls' Day Christian holiday
November 4 Monday Recreation Day State holiday
November 5 Tuesday Melbourne Cup Day State holiday
November 10 Sunday Prophet's Birthday Muslim holiday
November 11 Monday Remembrance Day National holiday
December 1 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Observance
December 8 Sunday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 23 Monday First Day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Thursday Boxing Day National holiday
December 30 Monday Last day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Monday Epiphany Common Local holiday
January 7 Tuesday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 14 Tuesday Orthodox New Year Orthodox holiday
January 25 Saturday Chinese New Year Observance
January 26 Sunday Australia Day National holiday
January 27 Monday Australia Day observed National holiday
February 10 Monday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
February 10 Monday Royal Hobart Regatta State holiday
February 14 Friday Valentine's Day Observance
February 25 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
February 26 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian holiday
March 2 Monday Labour Day National holiday
March 9 Monday Eight Hours Day Common State holiday
March 9 Monday Adelaide Cup State holiday
March 9 Monday Labour Day National holiday
March 9 Monday Canberra Day State holiday
March 10 Tuesday Purim Jewish holiday
March 17 Tuesday St Patrick's Day Observance
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 21 Saturday Harmony Day Observance
March 22 Sunday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
April 4 Saturday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
April 5 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance
April 9 Thursday First day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 9 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 11 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 12 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 14 Tuesday Easter Tuesday State holiday
April 16 Thursday Last day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 17 Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox holiday
April 18 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox holiday
April 19 Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox holiday
April 20 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox holiday
April 21 Tuesday Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday
April 24 Friday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
April 25 Saturday ANZAC Day National holiday
April 27 Monday ANZAC Day National holiday
April 29 Wednesday Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish holiday
May 4 Monday May Day National holiday
May 10 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 12 Tuesday Lag B'Omer Jewish holiday
May 19 Tuesday Laylat al-Qadr (Night of Destiny) Muslim holiday
May 21 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
May 24 Sunday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim holiday
May 26 Tuesday National Sorry Day Observance
May 29 Friday Shavuot Jewish holiday
May 31 Sunday Pentecost Christian holiday
June 1 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
June 1 Monday Western Australia Day Common State holiday
June 6 Saturday Queensland Day Local observance
June 7 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian holiday
June 8 Monday Queen's Birthday Public Holiday
June 11 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 5 Sunday First Day of NAIDOC Week Observance
July 30 Thursday Tisha B'Av Jewish holiday
July 31 Friday Eid-al-Adha Muslim holiday
August 3 Monday New South Wales Bank Holiday State holiday
August 3 Monday Northern Territory Picnic Day State holiday
August 12 Wednesday Royal National Agricultural Show Day Queensland State holiday
August 15 Saturday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
August 20 Thursday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim holiday
September 6 Sunday Father's Day Observance
September 19 Saturday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
September 28 Monday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
September 28 Monday Queen's Birthday Public Holiday
September 28 Monday Family & Community Day State holiday
October 3 Saturday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
October 3 Saturday First day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 4 Sunday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian holiday
October 5 Monday Labour Day National holiday
October 5 Monday Queen's Birthday Public Holiday
October 9 Friday Last day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 10 Saturday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
October 11 Sunday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
October 29 Thursday Prophet's Birthday Muslim holiday
October 31 Saturday Halloween Observance
November 1 Sunday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 2 Monday Recreation Day State holiday
November 2 Monday All Souls' Day Christian holiday
November 3 Tuesday Melbourne Cup Day State holiday
November 11 Wednesday Remembrance Day National holiday
November 14 Saturday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
November 29 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Observance
December 8 Tuesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 11 Friday First Day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 18 Friday Last day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday Boxing Day National holiday
December 28 Monday Christmas/Boxing Day Holiday Public Holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance