Public holidays and observances in Canada

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Tuesday Day After New Year’s Day Local holiday
January 6 Saturday Epiphany Common Local holiday
January 7 Sunday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 14 Sunday Orthodox New Year Orthodox holiday
January 31 Wednesday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
February 2 Friday Groundhog Day Observance
February 12 Monday Family Day Common Local holiday
February 13 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
February 14 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian holiday
February 14 Wednesday Valentine's Day Observance
February 15 Thursday National Flag of Canada Day Observance
February 16 Friday Yukon Heritage Day Local holiday
February 16 Friday Chinese New Year Observance
February 19 Monday Islander Day Common Local holiday
February 19 Monday Family Day Common Local holiday
February 19 Monday Nova Scotia Heritage Day Common Local holiday
February 19 Monday Louis Riel Day Common Local holiday
March 1 Thursday St David's Day Observance
March 1 Thursday Purim Jewish holiday
March 11 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
March 12 Monday Commonwealth Day Observance
March 17 Saturday St. Patrick's Day Local holiday
March 19 Monday St. Patrick's Day Local holiday
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 25 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance
March 29 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
March 31 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
March 31 Saturday First day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 1 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 2 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 6 Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox holiday
April 6 Friday National Tartan Day Observance
April 7 Saturday Last day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 7 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox holiday
April 8 Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox holiday
April 9 Monday Vimy Ridge Day Observance
April 9 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox holiday
April 11 Wednesday Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday
April 13 Friday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
April 19 Thursday Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish holiday
April 23 Monday St. George's Day Local holiday
May 3 Thursday Lag B'Omer Jewish holiday
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
May 13 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 16 Wednesday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
May 20 Sunday Pentecost Christian holiday
May 20 Sunday Shavuot Jewish holiday
May 21 Monday Victoria Day Common Local holiday
May 21 Monday National Patriots' Day Local holiday
May 21 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
May 27 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian holiday
May 31 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 10 Sunday Laylat al-Qadr (Night of Destiny) Muslim holiday
June 15 Friday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim holiday
June 17 Sunday Father's Day Observance
June 21 Thursday National Aboriginal Day Observance
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
June 24 Sunday St. Jean Baptiste Day Local holiday
June 25 Monday Discovery Day Local holiday
June 25 Monday St. Jean Baptiste Day observed Local holiday
July 1 Sunday Memorial Day Local observance
July 1 Sunday Canada Day National holiday
July 2 Monday Canada Day - additional statutory holiday National holiday
July 9 Monday Nunavut Day Local holiday
July 9 Monday Orangemen's Day Local holiday
July 22 Sunday Tisha B'Av Jewish holiday
August 1 Wednesday The Royal St John's Regatta (Regatta Day) Local holiday
August 6 Monday Heritage Day in Alberta Common Local holiday
August 6 Monday Civic/Provincial Day Common Local holiday
August 6 Monday Terry Fox Day Common Local holiday
August 6 Monday New Brunswick Day Common Local holiday
August 6 Monday British Columbia Day Common Local holiday
August 6 Monday Natal Day Common Local holiday
August 15 Wednesday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
August 17 Friday Gold Cup Parade Local holiday
August 20 Monday Discovery Day Local holiday
August 22 Wednesday Eid-al-Adha Muslim holiday
September 3 Monday Labour Day National holiday
September 10 Monday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
September 12 Wednesday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim holiday
September 19 Wednesday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
September 24 Monday First day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
September 30 Sunday Last day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 1 Monday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
October 2 Tuesday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
October 4 Thursday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian holiday
October 8 Monday Thanksgiving Day National holiday
October 31 Wednesday Halloween Observance
November 1 Thursday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 2 Friday All Souls' Day Christian holiday
November 4 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
November 5 Monday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
November 11 Sunday Remembrance Day National holiday
November 12 Monday Remembrance Day observed Public Holiday

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Wednesday Day After New Year’s Day Local holiday
January 6 Sunday Epiphany Common Local holiday
January 7 Monday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 14 Monday Orthodox New Year Orthodox holiday
January 21 Monday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
February 2 Saturday Groundhog Day Observance
February 5 Tuesday Chinese New Year Observance
February 11 Monday Family Day Common Local holiday
February 14 Thursday Valentine's Day Observance
February 15 Friday Yukon Heritage Day Local holiday
February 15 Friday National Flag of Canada Day Observance
February 18 Monday Islander Day Common Local holiday
February 18 Monday Family Day Common Local holiday
February 18 Monday Nova Scotia Heritage Day Common Local holiday
February 18 Monday Louis Riel Day Common Local holiday
March 1 Friday St David's Day Observance
March 5 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
March 6 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian holiday
March 10 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
March 11 Monday Commonwealth Day Observance
March 17 Sunday St. Patrick's Day Local holiday
March 18 Monday St. Patrick's Day Local holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
March 21 Thursday Purim Jewish holiday
April 3 Wednesday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
April 6 Saturday National Tartan Day Observance
April 9 Tuesday Vimy Ridge Day Observance
April 14 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance
April 18 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 20 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 20 Saturday First day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 21 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 22 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 22 Monday St. George's Day Local holiday
April 26 Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox holiday
April 27 Saturday Last day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 27 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox holiday
April 28 Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox holiday
April 29 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox holiday
May 1 Wednesday Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday
May 6 Monday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
May 9 Thursday Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish holiday
May 12 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 20 Monday Victoria Day Common Local holiday
May 20 Monday National Patriots' Day Local holiday
May 23 Thursday Lag B'Omer Jewish holiday
May 30 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
May 31 Friday Laylat al-Qadr (Night of Destiny) Muslim holiday
June 5 Wednesday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim holiday
June 9 Sunday Pentecost Christian holiday
June 9 Sunday Shavuot Jewish holiday
June 10 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
June 16 Sunday Father's Day Observance
June 16 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian holiday
June 20 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 21 Friday National Aboriginal Day Observance
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
June 24 Monday St. Jean Baptiste Day Local holiday
June 24 Monday Discovery Day Local holiday
July 1 Monday Memorial Day Local observance
July 1 Monday Canada Day National holiday
July 9 Tuesday Nunavut Day Local holiday
July 15 Monday Orangemen's Day Local holiday
August 5 Monday Natal Day Common Local holiday
August 5 Monday Heritage Day in Alberta Common Local holiday
August 5 Monday Civic/Provincial Day Common Local holiday
August 5 Monday Terry Fox Day Common Local holiday
August 5 Monday New Brunswick Day Common Local holiday
August 5 Monday British Columbia Day Common Local holiday
August 7 Wednesday The Royal St John's Regatta (Regatta Day) Local holiday
August 11 Sunday Tisha B'Av Jewish holiday
August 12 Monday Eid-al-Adha Muslim holiday
August 15 Thursday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
August 16 Friday Gold Cup Parade Local holiday
August 19 Monday Discovery Day Local holiday
September 1 Sunday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim holiday
September 2 Monday Labour Day National holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 30 Monday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
October 4 Friday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian holiday
October 9 Wednesday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
October 14 Monday First day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 14 Monday Thanksgiving Day National holiday
October 20 Sunday Last day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 21 Monday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
October 22 Tuesday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
October 31 Thursday Halloween Observance
November 1 Friday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 2 Saturday All Souls' Day Christian holiday
November 3 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
November 10 Sunday Prophet's Birthday Muslim holiday
November 11 Monday Remembrance Day National holiday
December 1 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Observance
December 8 Sunday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 11 Wednesday Anniversary of the Statute of Westminster Observance

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 2 Thursday Day After New Year’s Day Local holiday
January 6 Monday Epiphany Common Local holiday
January 7 Tuesday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 14 Tuesday Orthodox New Year Orthodox holiday
January 25 Saturday Chinese New Year Observance
February 2 Sunday Groundhog Day Observance
February 10 Monday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
February 10 Monday Family Day Common Local holiday
February 14 Friday Valentine's Day Observance
February 15 Saturday National Flag of Canada Day Observance
February 17 Monday Islander Day Common Local holiday
February 17 Monday Nova Scotia Heritage Day Common Local holiday
February 17 Monday Family Day Common Local holiday
February 17 Monday Louis Riel Day Common Local holiday
February 21 Friday Yukon Heritage Day Local holiday
February 25 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
February 26 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian holiday
March 1 Sunday St David's Day Observance
March 8 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Daylight Saving Time
March 9 Monday Commonwealth Day Observance
March 10 Tuesday Purim Jewish holiday
March 16 Monday St. Patrick's Day Local holiday
March 17 Tuesday St. Patrick's Day Local holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
March 22 Sunday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim holiday
April 5 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance
April 6 Monday National Tartan Day Observance
April 9 Thursday Vimy Ridge Day Observance
April 9 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 9 Thursday First day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 11 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 12 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
April 16 Thursday Last day of Passover Jewish holiday
April 17 Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox holiday
April 18 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox holiday
April 19 Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox holiday
April 20 Monday St. George's Day Local holiday
April 20 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox holiday
April 21 Tuesday Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday
April 24 Friday Ramadan begins Muslim holiday
April 29 Wednesday Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish holiday
May 10 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 12 Tuesday Lag B'Omer Jewish holiday
May 18 Monday Victoria Day Common Local holiday
May 18 Monday National Patriots' Day Local holiday
May 19 Tuesday Laylat al-Qadr (Night of Destiny) Muslim holiday
May 21 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
May 24 Sunday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim holiday
May 29 Friday Shavuot Jewish holiday
May 31 Sunday Pentecost Christian holiday
June 1 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
June 7 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian holiday
June 11 Thursday Corpus Christi Common Local holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
June 21 Sunday Father's Day Observance
June 21 Sunday National Aboriginal Day Observance
June 22 Monday Discovery Day Local holiday
June 24 Wednesday St. Jean Baptiste Day Local holiday
July 1 Wednesday Canada Day National holiday
July 1 Wednesday Memorial Day Local observance
July 9 Thursday Nunavut Day Local holiday
July 13 Monday Orangemen's Day Local holiday
July 30 Thursday Tisha B'Av Jewish holiday
July 31 Friday Eid-al-Adha Muslim holiday
August 3 Monday Natal Day Common Local holiday
August 3 Monday Heritage Day in Alberta Common Local holiday
August 3 Monday Civic/Provincial Day Common Local holiday
August 3 Monday Terry Fox Day Common Local holiday
August 3 Monday New Brunswick Day Common Local holiday
August 3 Monday British Columbia Day Common Local holiday
August 5 Wednesday The Royal St John's Regatta (Regatta Day) Local holiday
August 15 Saturday Assumption of Mary Common Local holiday
August 17 Monday Discovery Day Local holiday
August 20 Thursday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim holiday
August 21 Friday Gold Cup Parade Local holiday
September 7 Monday Labour Day National holiday
September 19 Saturday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
September 28 Monday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
October 3 Saturday First day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 4 Sunday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian holiday
October 9 Friday Last day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 10 Saturday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
October 11 Sunday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
October 12 Monday Thanksgiving Day National holiday
October 29 Thursday Prophet's Birthday Muslim holiday
October 31 Saturday Halloween Observance
November 1 Sunday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 1 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
November 2 Monday All Souls' Day Christian holiday
November 11 Wednesday Remembrance Day National holiday
November 29 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Observance
December 8 Tuesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 11 Friday First Day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday