Public holidays and observances in Czech Republic

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year's Day National holiday
January 1 Monday Restoration of the Czech Independence Day National holiday
February 14 Wednesday Carnival/Ash Wednesday Silent Day
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
March 25 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance
March 29 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
March 30 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
March 31 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 1 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 2 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Tuesday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
May 8 Tuesday Victory in Europe Day National holiday
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
May 21 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
May 27 Sunday Trinity Christian holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
July 5 Thursday Saints Cyril and Methodius National holiday
July 6 Friday Jan Hus Day National holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
September 28 Friday St. Wenceslas Day National holiday
October 28 Sunday Independent Czechoslovak State Day National holiday
November 17 Saturday Struggle for Freedom and Democracy Day National holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Wednesday St. Stephen's Day National holiday

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 1 Tuesday Restoration of the Czech Independence Day National holiday
March 6 Wednesday Carnival/Ash Wednesday Silent Day
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
April 14 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance
April 18 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 19 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 20 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 21 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 22 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
May 8 Wednesday Victory in Europe Day National holiday
May 30 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
June 10 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
June 16 Sunday Trinity Christian holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 5 Friday Saints Cyril and Methodius National holiday
July 6 Saturday Jan Hus Day National holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 28 Saturday St. Wenceslas Day National holiday
October 28 Monday Independent Czechoslovak State Day National holiday
November 17 Sunday Struggle for Freedom and Democracy Day National holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Thursday St. Stephen's Day National holiday

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 1 Wednesday Restoration of the Czech Independence Day National holiday
February 26 Wednesday Carnival/Ash Wednesday Silent Day
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
April 5 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance
April 9 Thursday Maundy Thursday Silent Day
April 10 Friday Good Friday Silent Day
April 11 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian holiday
April 12 Sunday Easter Day Silent Day
April 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Friday Labor Day / May Day Public Holiday
May 8 Friday Victory in Europe Day National holiday
May 21 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday
June 1 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
June 7 Sunday Trinity Christian holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 5 Sunday Saints Cyril and Methodius National holiday
July 6 Monday Jan Hus Day National holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
September 28 Monday St. Wenceslas Day National holiday
October 28 Wednesday Independent Czechoslovak State Day National holiday
November 17 Tuesday Struggle for Freedom and Democracy Day National holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday St. Stephen's Day National holiday