Public holidays and observances in Sao Tome and Principe

Year 2018

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Monday New Year Public Holiday
January 4 Thursday Day of King Amador Public Holiday
February 3 Saturday Commemoration of the Batepá Massacre Public Holiday
March 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
May 1 Tuesday Labour Day National holiday
June 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
July 12 Thursday Independence Day Public Holiday
September 6 Thursday Armed Forces' Day Public Holiday
September 23 Sunday September equinox Season
September 30 Sunday Nationalization of the Roças Public Holiday
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday

Year 2019

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year Public Holiday
January 4 Friday Day of King Amador Public Holiday
February 3 Sunday Commemoration of the Batepá Massacre Public Holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
May 1 Wednesday Labour Day National holiday
June 21 Friday June Solstice Season
July 12 Friday Independence Day Public Holiday
September 6 Friday Armed Forces' Day Public Holiday
September 23 Monday September equinox Season
September 30 Monday Nationalization of the Roças Public Holiday
December 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National holiday

Year 2020

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Wednesday New Year Public Holiday
January 4 Saturday Day of King Amador Public Holiday
February 3 Monday Commemoration of the Batepá Massacre Public Holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season
May 1 Friday Labour Day National holiday
June 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
July 12 Sunday Independence Day Public Holiday
September 6 Sunday Armed Forces' Day Public Holiday
September 22 Tuesday September equinox Season
September 30 Wednesday Nationalization of the Roças Public Holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday