United Kingdom

Regions

England
N Ireland
Scotland
Wales

Country information

Country: United Kingdom
Population: 62,348,447 inhabitants  (Last modified: 25/11/2011 )
Area 244,820 km²
Capital: London
Currency: Pound (GBP)
Phone code: +44
Languages: en-GB,cy-GB,gd
Domain name: .uk
Postcode form: @# #@@|@## #@@|@@# #@@|@@## #@@|@#@ #@@|@@#@ #@@|GIR0AA
Postcode regex: ^(([A-Z]\d{2}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]\d{3}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d{2}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d{3}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]\d[A-Z]\d[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d[A-Z]\d[A-Z]{2})|(GIR0AA))$
ISO3: GBR
Neighbors: Ireland
Fips: UK

Current local time in United Kingdom

Current Date:
Wednesday 02 December 2020
Current Time:
  • 15
  • :
  • 17
  • :
  • 12
Time Zone: Europe/London
GMT/UTC: 0  hours
DST started: Sunday, 25 October 2020, 01:00
DST will end: Sunday, 28 March 2021, 01:00


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
December 8 Tuesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 11 Friday First Day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 18 Friday Last day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday Boxing Day National holiday
December 28 Monday Bank Holiday National holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance
Show full list of public holidays
Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Friday New Year's Day National holiday
January 4 Monday 2nd January (substitute day) Local holiday
January 6 Wednesday Epiphany Common Local holiday
January 7 Thursday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 14 Thursday Orthodox New Year Orthodox holiday
January 25 Monday Burns Night Local observance
January 28 Thursday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
February 12 Friday Chinese New Year Observance
February 14 Sunday Valentine's Day Observance
February 16 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Show full list of tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 54.75844
Longitude in decimal degrees: -2.69531
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 54° 46' 30" North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 2° 42' 43" West
Height above sea level: 71 m,   232.94 ft,   2795.28 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)