United Kingdom

Regions

England
N Ireland
Scotland
Wales

Country information

Country: United Kingdom
Population: 62,348,447 inhabitants  (Last modified: 25/11/2011 )
Area 244,820 km²
Capital: London
Currency: Pound (GBP)
Phone code: +44
Languages: en-GB,cy-GB,gd
Domain name: .uk
Postcode form: @# #@@|@## #@@|@@# #@@|@@## #@@|@#@ #@@|@@#@ #@@|GIR0AA
Postcode regex: ^(([A-Z]\d{2}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]\d{3}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d{2}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d{3}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]\d[A-Z]\d[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d[A-Z]\d[A-Z]{2})|(GIR0AA))$
ISO3: GBR
Neighbors: Ireland
Fips: UK

Current local time in United Kingdom

Current Date:
Wednesday 26 September 2018
Current Time:
  • 12
  • :
  • 41
  • :
  • 21
Time Zone: Europe/London
GMT/UTC: 0  hours
DST started: Sunday, 25 March 2018, 01:00
DST will end: Sunday, 28 October 2018, 01:00


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
September 30 Sunday Last day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
October 1 Monday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
October 2 Tuesday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
October 4 Thursday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian holiday
October 28 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Daylight Saving Time
October 31 Wednesday Halloween Observance
November 1 Thursday All Saints' Day Silent Day
November 2 Friday All Souls' Day Christian holiday
November 5 Monday Guy Fawkes Day Observance
November 7 Wednesday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Show full list of tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 54.75844
Longitude in decimal degrees: -2.69531
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 54° 46' 30" North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 2° 42' 43" West
Height above sea level: 71 m,   232.94 ft,   2795.28 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)