United Kingdom

Regions

England
N Ireland
Scotland
Wales

Country information

Country: United Kingdom
Population: 62,348,447 inhabitants  (Last modified: 25/11/2011 )
Area 244,820 km²
Capital: London
Currency: Pound (GBP)
Phone code: +44
Languages: en-GB,cy-GB,gd
Domain name: .uk
Postcode form: @# #@@|@## #@@|@@# #@@|@@## #@@|@#@ #@@|@@#@ #@@|GIR0AA
Postcode regex: ^(([A-Z]\d{2}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]\d{3}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d{2}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d{3}[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]\d[A-Z]\d[A-Z]{2})|([A-Z]{2}\d[A-Z]\d[A-Z]{2})|(GIR0AA))$
ISO3: GBR
Neighbors: Ireland
Fips: UK

Current local time in United Kingdom

Current Date:
Saturday 19 January 2019
Current Time:
  • 05
  • :
  • 04
  • :
  • 28
Time Zone: Europe/London
GMT/UTC: 0  hours
DST started: Sunday, 28 October 2018, 01:00
DST will end: Sunday, 31 March 2019, 01:00


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 21 Monday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
January 25 Friday Burns Night Local observance
February 5 Tuesday Chinese New Year Observance
February 14 Thursday Valentine's Day Observance
March 1 Friday St. David's Day Observance
March 5 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
March 6 Wednesday Carnival/Ash Wednesday Silent Day
March 17 Sunday St Patrick's Day Observance
March 18 Monday St Patrick's Day observed Local holiday
March 20 Wednesday March equinox Season
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Show full list of tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: 54.75844
Longitude in decimal degrees: -2.69531
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 54° 46' 30" North
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 2° 42' 43" West
Height above sea level: 71 m,   232.94 ft,   2795.28 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)