Australia

Regions

Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales
Northern Territory
Queensland
South Australia
Tasmania
Victoria
Western Australia

Country information

Country: Australia
Population: 21,515,754 inhabitants  (Last modified: 5/03/2013 )
Area 7,686,850 km²
Capital: Canberra
Currency: Dollar (AUD)
Phone code: +61
Languages: en-AU
Domain name: .au
Postcode form: ####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{4})$
ISO3: AUS
Neighbors:
Fips: AS

Current local time in Australia

Current Date:
Tuesday 11 December 2018
Current Time:
  • 23
  • :
  • 24
  • :
  • 16
Time Zone: Australia/Sydney
GMT/UTC: + 11  hours
DST started: Saturday, 06 October 2018, 16:00
DST will end: Saturday, 06 April 2019, 16:00


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
December 21 Friday December Solstice Season
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Wednesday Boxing Day National holiday
December 31 Monday New Year's Eve Observance
Show full list of public holidays
Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Sunday Epiphany Common Local holiday
January 7 Monday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 14 Monday Orthodox New Year Orthodox holiday
January 21 Monday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
January 26 Saturday Australia Day National holiday
January 28 Monday Australia Day observed National holiday
February 5 Tuesday Chinese New Year Observance
February 11 Monday Royal Hobart Regatta State holiday
February 14 Thursday Valentine's Day Observance
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Show full list of tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: -25
Longitude in decimal degrees: 135
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 25° South
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 135° East
Height above sea level: 269 m,   882.55 ft,   10590.56 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)