Australia

Regions

Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales
Northern Territory
Queensland
South Australia
Tasmania
Victoria
Western Australia

Country information

Country: Australia
Population: 21,515,754 inhabitants  (Last modified: 5/03/2013 )
Area 7,686,850 km²
Capital: Canberra
Currency: Dollar (AUD)
Phone code: +61
Languages: en-AU
Domain name: .au
Postcode form: ####
Postcode regex: ^(\d{4})$
ISO3: AUS
Neighbors:
Fips: AS

Current local time in Australia

Current Date:
Sunday 06 December 2020
Current Time:
  • 02
  • :
  • 04
  • :
  • 28
Time Zone: Australia/Sydney
GMT/UTC: + 11  hours
DST started: Saturday, 03 October 2020, 16:00
DST will end: Saturday, 03 April 2021, 16:00


*GMT/UTC - Standard Time Zone
*DST - Daylight Saving Time

Upcoming public holidays

Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
December 8 Tuesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian holiday
December 11 Friday First Day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 18 Friday Last day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
December 21 Monday December Solstice Season
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Silent Day
December 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Saturday Boxing Day National holiday
December 28 Monday Christmas/Boxing Day Holiday Public Holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance
Show full list of public holidays
Date Weekday Public holiday name Public holiday type
January 1 Friday New Year's Day National holiday
January 6 Wednesday Epiphany Common Local holiday
January 7 Thursday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox holiday
January 14 Thursday Orthodox New Year Orthodox holiday
January 26 Tuesday Australia Day National holiday
January 28 Thursday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
February 8 Monday Royal Hobart Regatta State holiday
February 12 Friday Chinese New Year Observance
February 14 Sunday Valentine's Day Observance
February 16 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Observance
Show full list of public holidays

Tide times and tide charts

Show full list of tide times and tide charts

Geographic information

Latitude in decimal degrees: -25
Longitude in decimal degrees: 135
Latitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 25° South
Longitude in degrees, minutes, and seconds: 135° East
Height above sea level: 269 m,   882.55 ft,   10590.56 in
Geographical feature: A (Administrative region type feature)
Feature designation code: A.PCLI (independent political entity)